Philadelphia Voices website launched

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 8.52.39 PM

Check out the new website for the latest Tod Machover City Symphony project, Philadelphia Voices. “Tod Machover and Opera of the Future launched the Collaborative City Symphony project in 2012, and since then have created collaborative symphonies with the cities of Toronto (Toronto Symphony Orchestra, 2013), Edinburgh (Edinburgh International Festival, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, 2013), Perth (Perth International Festival, West Australian Symphony Orchestra, 2014), Lucerne (Lucerne Festival, Lucerne Festival Academy Orchestra, 2015), Detroit (Detroit Symphony Orchestra with Knight Foundation, 2015), and Miami (New World Symphony with Knight Foundation, 2017). Machover and his research group collaborated with these cities to explore new relationships between author/audience, composition/improvisation, music/noise, and online/onsite, while emphasizing the potential of each locale to inspire its citizens to engage with their community in a profound way through music. One of the most rewarding aspects of the City Symphonies project is that the processes employed to achieve the final work are designed to grow naturally out of each particular city and context. For this reason, all the City Symphonies realized to date by Tod Machover and the MIT Media Lab have differed widely in terms of use of imagery/video, interactive performance elements, incorporation of local musicians, balance of acoustic/electronic sounds, and overall aesthetic profile.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s